Palestine: Almost all countries that have recognized it have done so for Israel

The number of countries that recognize the state of Israel, but not a Palestinian state, is dwindling, with Ireland, Norway and Spain recognizing the state of Palestine, which officially announced the move on May 28.

This year the Bahamas, Trinidad and Tobago, Jamaica and Barbados recognized Palestine.

In particular, after the declaration by three European countries, the difference was reduced to less than 20 countries, once the decision was officially recognized, which was the UN recognition of the Palestinian state. It will bring the total number of member states to 146 in total. 193.

Israel, on the other hand, is recognized by 165 UN member states, most recently the United Arab Emirates, Bahrain, Sudan and Morocco, which established relations with Tel Aviv under the US-backed Abraham Accords in late 2020.

All three countries have full diplomatic relations with Israel, there are no indications that they plan to downgrade their relationship with Israel, and most UN member states recognize both the Israeli and Palestinian states.

However, there was a reaction from Israel, as announced by Foreign Minister Israel Katz Newsweek Spain also threatened to face similar “severe consequences” if it made its own decision, as well as recalling the country’s ambassadors from Ireland and Norway “for consultation”.

Which other countries recognized Palestine this year?

This action by three European countries shows the growing trend and momentum in this direction in Europe since the beginning of the war in Gaza, as there are also reports from other states such as Belgium, Malta and Slovenia. It may follow their example.

See also  Stelios Dionysiou is urgently in hospital

Most countries in the Middle East, Africa and Asia recognize the Palestinian state. However, the United States, Canada, Australia, Japan, South Korea and many Western European countries do not.

Countries that have recognized Palestine this year are the Bahamas, Trinidad and Tobago, Jamaica and Barbados.

Countries that recognize the Palestinian state (Source: Newsweek)

In a recent vote before the UN General Assembly earlier this month, a resolution granting Palestine more rights under the General Assembly gathered the support of 143 countries, while nine countries, including the United States and Israel, opposed and 25 abstained.

Notably, more than ten countries that do not recognize the Palestinian state, such as Australia, France, and Japan, supported the move, while other countries that have already recognized the Palestinian state, such as Bulgaria, Sweden, and Ukraine, supported the move. , Argentina, Czech Republic, Hungary and Papua New Guinea should vote against.

Last month, the 15-member UN In a Security Council vote, the United States was the only permanent member to vote against the move, using its veto to prevent the Palestinian statehood process from moving forward internationally.

Pressure has mounted against Israel over the humanitarian impact of the war in Gaza, and at least nine countries have withdrawn their ambassadors from Israel, downgraded ties or severed ties altogether.

Authorization from 2011 to 2023

The Al Jazeera, look back at when states recognized Palestine. According to him, the first Oslo Accords were signed on September 13, 1993. The agreement between Israeli and Palestinian leaders resulted in both sides recognizing it for the first time.

See also  Messolonghi: She admits she was with the butcher Babis - "I lied badly at first"

Both sides pledged to end the decades-long conflict. A second agreement was signed in September 1995. The Oslo Accords should bring about Palestinian self-determination in the form of a Palestinian state alongside Israel.

A Palestinian refugee holds a Palestinian flag during a protest in Madrid, Spain July 21, 2015 (Credit: REUTERS/Juan Medina)

According to the Oslo Accords, by May 4, 1999, there should be an independent Palestine. However, 2000 marked the beginning of the second intifada.

In 2011, despite Palestine campaigning for full membership and failing to join the UN, UNESCO gave the Palestinians UN status. Granted full membership in the cultural organization, leading the United States to withdraw from the organization. In 2012, the General Assembly voted to change Palestine’s status to “non-member observer state” and in 2015, the International Criminal Court recognized Palestine as a member.

In 2014, Sweden became the first Western European country to recognize Palestine.

Countries that have recognized Palestine from 2011 to 2023 are:

  • 2023: Mexico
  • 2019: St. Kitts and Nevis
  • 2018: Colombia
  • 2015: Saint Lucia
  • 2014: Sweden
  • 2013: Haiti, Vatican City
  • 2012: Thailand
  • 2011: Guyana, Peru, Suriname, Uruguay, Lesotho, South Sudan, Syria, Liberia, El Salvador, Honduras, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Belize, Dominica, Antigua and Barbuda, Grenada, Iceland

Recognition from 2000 to 2010

Countries that recognized Palestine in the first decade of our century:

  • 2010: Brazil, Argentina, Bolivia, Ecuador
  • 2009: Venezuela, Dominican Republic
  • 2008: Costa Rica, Lebanon, Ivory Coast
  • 2006: Montenegro
  • 2005: Paraguay
  • 2004: East Timor

Recognition from 1989 to 1999

Countries that recognized Palestine in the last decade of the 20th century included:

See also  Heavy snow in Attica since evening - EMY's new emergency announcement

1998: Malawi

1995: South Africa, Kyrgyzstan

1994: Tajikistan, Uzbekistan, Papua New Guinea

1992: Kazakhstan, Azerbaijan, Turkmenistan, Georgia, Bosnia and Herzegovina

1991: Eswatini1

989: Rwanda, Ethiopia, Iran, Benin, Kenya, Equatorial Guinea, Vanuatu, Philippines


On November 15, 1988, in the early years of the First Intifada, Yasser Arafat, the leader of the Palestine Liberation Organization, declared Palestine an independent state with Jerusalem as its capital.

Algeria was the first country to recognize Palestine as part of the former Soviet Union, with most European countries recognizing it.

1988: Libya, Malaysia, Mauritania, Morocco, Somalia, Tunisia, Turkey, Yemen, Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Cuba, Jordan, Madagascar, Malta, Nicaragua, Pakistan, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, United Arab Emirates, Serbia, Zambia, Albania, Djibouti , Mauritius, Sudan, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Slovakia, Egypt, Gambia, India, Nigeria, Seychelles, Sri Lanka, Namibia, Russia, Belarus, Ukraine, Vietnam, China, Burkina Faso, Comoros, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau Cambodia, Mali, Mongolia, Senegal, Hungary, Cape Verde, North Korea, Niger, Romania, Tanzania, Bulgaria, Maldives, Ghana, Togo, Zimbabwe, Chad, Laos, Sierra Leone, Uganda, Republic of Congo, Angola, Mozambique, Sao Tome and Principe , Gabon, Oman, Poland, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Botswana, Nepal, Burundi, Central African Republic, Bhutan, Western Sahara.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *